The Slightly Confused Woodworker

Home » woodworking » Huh?

Huh?


I’m not a professional writer.

I hate to keep reminding people of this fact. But I have to put it out there. However, I think I know a few of the rules of good writing. And I’ve always been under the impression that you shouldn’t really put out an explanation of satire. So I’m going to break that “rule” right here since there seems to be a lot of thin skin in the world of woodworking.

Yesterday’s “Roubo items” post had nothing to do with insulting Andre Roubo or those who admire his work. I was on Ebay Tuesday afternoon (good song, btw) and saw “Andre Roubo T-Shirts” for sale. I thought it was pretty funny, and it reminded me of when I was a kid and the original Star Wars movie was released. It seemed that just about every item you could think of had a Star Wars logo plastered on it, from cereal to bath towels to plungers.

So that’s it, nothing more. If you don’t believe me, check it out on Ebay. And thanks for effing up my joke.

19 Comments

  1. Those who took offense at your post need to get a life. Get a job, or both. Life is offensive, deal with it.

  2. I laughed, but you still can’t have my Roubo frame saw. Looked like your commenters got the joke, at least.

    • billlattpa says:

      I really need to do a post of my “hate mail”. I don’t attach my email to the blog anymore, but it’s easy to find on another site. Most of it is pretty funny. Among those from yesterday was “Roubo was woodworking genius! What are you?” “What do you have against Roubo?”
      I just wish they would comment on the blog, because that would be fun.
      Thanks!
      Bill

  3. Jack Palmer says:

    My response as well was tongue in cheek. I have a great deal of respect for the people involved in sharing this knowledge. But some folks wouldn’t know satire or humor if it bit them in the …but that’s another story.

    • billlattpa says:

      I appreciate it, and please feel free to leave all of the tongue-in-cheek comments you would like. Break my stones! I appreciate it. Woodworking and this blog are fun time for me. With all of the nonsense I put up with at work everyday I look forward to stuff like this.
      Thanks!!
      Bill

  4. Jeff Brann says:

    I actually enjoyed your satire on Roubo;something I may share at our next club meeting. It’s all about perspective. If you don’t have that then why mess up a perfectly good log!

    • billlattpa says:

      Thanks!! I’m not usually one to laugh at my own jokes but I thought my Roubo post was pretty funny. The only thing I’ll say is that maybe smoe of my hate mail was supposed to be a joke as well. Though I wish they would post that in the comment section, which is why I have one.
      Once again, I appreciate the support and the comment.
      Bill

  5. It is always amazing to discover the number of people who take themselves too seriously. For my part I chuckled all day about it and was looking around the shop thinking of things to list on ebay with you. We could start an official store, get Chris to endorse us! 🙂 🙂

  6. Brian says:

    I had a laugh. But if that roubo remote control can be authenticated I’d like dibs on it.

  7. Steve Diogo says:

    I didn’t even know Rambo was a woodworker.

  8. artisandcw says:

    You might say that I am a stakeholder in the Roubo movement, and I laughed out loud at the post.

    Don Williams

    • billlattpa says:

      I’m glad you liked it and got the joke! I don’t even hate the “hate mail” because some of it I bring upon myself. But it was supposed to be fun, not insulting in the least.
      So thanks!! I appreciate it.
      Bill

  9. The Grey Novice says:

    I think the problem on the part of the objectors is less a thinness of skin and more a denseness between the ears…

Leave a Reply-I'll respond even if I don't like you.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 922 other followers

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Archives

Categories

Me and my shop helper

Top Rated

Kinderhook Woodcraft

A Former Remodeling Contractor Turned Woodworker

Want Some Honey

Beekeeping with the bees best interest in mind

Knotty Artisans

"Knotty By Nature"

vnwoodworks

A woodworking journey

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

Australian Workshop Creations

Sustainable wooden signs and fine hardwood boxes.

michaellangforddotorg

Just another WordPress.com site

randallnatomagan

Woodworking, life and all things between

Fine Wood Tools

Use and Restoration of Fine Wood Tools

Jdawgswords

lost my mind...now what????

SteveWorksWood

wood working, furniture building, timber framing, carpentry

thewoodworkingconsultant

An amature woodworker who works as a data analytics consultant

b19y

the pensieve of benjamin james lowery

garthtw2

Just another WordPress.com site

GirlWood

Design. Create. Build.

