The Slightly Confused Woodworker

Home » woodworking » Secret Santa

Secret Santa


I had a bit of free time yesterday afternoon, so I took the opportunity to rough cut some of my walnut stock for a “secret” project I will hopefully begin, and end,  some time next weekend. Why is this project such a  secret? I’ll try to explain.

I’ve always tried to be honest and forthright on this blog concerning not only my so-called philosophy, but also my woodworking projects. I’ve done my best to detail everything I’ve made during that time, showcasing both the highlights and the mistakes. Mistakes generally don’t bother me, because the old cliché: ‘You learn from your mistakes’ is as true as the day is long as far as woodworking is concerned. But this new project is something I’ve never attempted before, so I have no frame of reference or experience to fall back on (though I have been doing research). I may as well be attempting an emergency appendectomy and trying to explain it to you all as I’m doing it.

To be even more annoyingly vague, this is not truly a woodworking project, it just happens to be partly made of wood.

IMG_1611[1]

For the inquisitive among you, there is a subtle hint in the photo.

In any event, I will do my best to document this little (hopefully not ill-fated) attempt. If it goes well, or even just okay, I will write a post about it. If not, forget what you see here.

8 Comments

  1. Greg Merritt says:

    Dang, it’s a cliffhanger!

  2. Kinderhook88 says:

    I like surprises. Except if you decide not to post it, in which case I’ll probably just forget that I’m waiting for a surprise.

    • billlattpa says:

      That’s the whole idea :). Actually, I’ll let you know. I’m attempting to make a bow saw. I ordered the hardware last week. It’s my hope that the day after Christmas I can get the wood parts milled and shaped. It is my very first attempt at this so it could be a disaster.
      Thanks.
      Bill

Leave a Reply-I'll respond even if I don't like you.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 893 other followers

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Categories

Me and my shop helper

Top Rated

Kinderhook Woodcraft

A Former Remodeling Contractor Turned Woodworker

Want Some Honey

Beekeeping with the bees best interest in mind

Knotty Artisans

"Knotty By Nature"

vnwoodworks

A woodworking journey

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

Australian Workshop Creations

Sustainable wooden signs and fine hardwood boxes.

michaellangforddotorg

Just another WordPress.com site

randallnatomagan

Woodworking, life and all things between

Fine Wood Tools

Use and Restoration of Fine Wood Tools

Jdawgswords

lost my mind...now what????

SteveWorksWood

wood working, furniture building, timber framing, carpentry

thewoodworkingconsultant

An amature woodworker who works as a data analytics consultant

b19y

the pensieve of benjamin james lowery

garthtw2

Just another WordPress.com site

GirlWood

Design. Create. Build.

wesleyworkswithwood

Pursuing a hobby working with wood

