The Slightly Confused Woodworker

Home » Plant Stand » Plant Stand beginnings.

Plant Stand beginnings.


The past few weeks have left me with little free time, but as it were, when I did happen to get a brief moment or two of liberty I dedicated it my hopefully soon to be upcoming Plant Stand project. I could not find a plan that I liked, but I did happen to find a few photos on the internet that caught my eye, including one that I added on my last post. Working from that basic photo, I drew up a rough sketch of my basic idea. For that sketch I used the photo as the basic guide. I did not make the drawing proportional, and because I did it by nearly all by hand it is a little rough. For the final drawing I will use my architects ruler (it was in my desk at work when I drew up the first sketch) and do my best to make the drawing proportional.

Plant stand rough sketch.

Plant stand rough sketch.

Speaking of proportions, I’ve narrowed down the dimensions I’m looking for, but they will all depend on the final sizes of usable stock I come up with. I would like the overall height of the stand to be 38 inches, with a 14 x 14 inch base. I’m hoping for 2 inch square legs, and by laminating two boards together I should be able to get that thickness, unless I have to plane off more material than I think. If that’s the case I will shoot for 1 7/8 or 1 3/4 thick legs. The top will be 16 inches square which will give me a minimal one inch overhang. I would also like the top to be 1 to 1 1/8 inches thick. I want the stand to look very sturdy, almost stocky. I don’t care for the look of spindly furniture all that much. To soften it up I think I will taper the legs slightly (I really don’t like tapered legs much, either). I’m still not sold on adding a full bead to the legs. I will have to do a few more experiments on some scrap wood and see how they turn out; I do still plan on beading the aprons. Otherwise, this is a very simple design, which it should be considering where it is going.

The still hasn’t been cooperating. We had snow, and now it is expected to rain the rest of the week, so even though the rain finally cleared my back yard of snow, it is little more than a muddy swamp at this point. With the weekend forecast not improving that much, I may just have to bite the bullet and plane the stock down in my driveway. That operation will make a mess, but I’m tired of waiting around for the weather. Mother Nature doesn’t really give much thought to woodworkers without workshops in my part of the country. So I have to man up and drag my stuff out into the driveway and do a little woodworking in the cold and get this plant stand started. Besides that, if I run the surface planer in the garage my wife yells at me.

Leave a Reply-I'll respond even if I don't like you.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 921 other followers

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Categories

Me and my shop helper

Top Rated

Kinderhook Woodcraft

A Former Remodeling Contractor Turned Woodworker

Want Some Honey

Beekeeping with the bees best interest in mind

Knotty Artisans

"Knotty By Nature"

vnwoodworks

A woodworking journey

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

Australian Workshop Creations

Sustainable wooden signs and fine hardwood boxes.

michaellangforddotorg

Just another WordPress.com site

randallnatomagan

Woodworking, life and all things between

Fine Wood Tools

Use and Restoration of Fine Wood Tools

Jdawgswords

lost my mind...now what????

SteveWorksWood

wood working, furniture building, timber framing, carpentry

thewoodworkingconsultant

An amature woodworker who works as a data analytics consultant

b19y

the pensieve of benjamin james lowery

garthtw2

Just another WordPress.com site

GirlWood

Design. Create. Build.

