The Slightly Confused Woodworker

Home » Dutch Tool Box » Paint Job

Paint Job


The super bowl, the flu, and the impending doom of nearly a foot of snow didn’t stop me from hitting the garage yesterday morning to get my Dutch Toolbox painted. Before I go any further, I have to be forthright and admit that I sold out. Saturday afternoon I went to the craft store with the intention of picking up some cobalt blue paint for the chest. Unfortunately for me, they only had that particular color in the small sizes, and when I say small I mean the size you may see in the pencil box of a kindergarten student. In the “adult” sizes the color choices were much more limited, so rather than compromise with a blue that I didn’t like I went with the old stand-by; black. I’m not happy with the black to be honest. It looks fine, and I’m sure it will hold up just fine as well, but it’s been done before so many times that I wanted to try something different. In fact, I nearly left the store, but my wife pointed out that yesterday (Sunday) was going to be the last somewhat decent day we are expecting for the next few weeks, and if I didn’t pick up the paint, it would be weeks before I had another chance. Besides that, I do have something that I believe will set the box apart and make it special (at least to me), but I don’t want to say anymore until I know for certain.

IMG_1478[1]

The only thing I have to report on the paint job is the fact that there is nothing to report. The paint went on easily enough and left a satisfactory chalky/matte finish. In fact, I had planned on adding two coats but after the first coat dried I only needed to do some touching up to get the look I wanted. All in all it took less than an hour to paint the whole chest. After the paint was dry I installed the cut nails and the corner brackets to protect the bottom of the chest. The only thing left to do now is reattach the lid, handles, and bottom cleats and this chest will be officially finished.

painted, with nails installed

painted, with nails installed

Front cover installed

Front cover installed

The only thing left now to do is decide on my next project. My wife wants a blanket chest that will fit in the living room. I can handle that, but with this never-ending winter in full swing I may wait for warmer weather to get started. In the meanwhile, I’m thinking of making a few hand tools, perhaps a brass hammer and a shoulder plane. I haven’t decided as of yet. I’ve been under the weather for weeks now, and I don’t want to make any decisions until I feel like myself again, and until this long winter finally is over.

3 Comments

  1. Jeff Branch says:

    Man that is dedication – woodworking with the flu. The tool box looks great. I wonder how that paint compares to chalk or is it the same thing? Looks handsome regardless.

Leave a Reply-I'll respond even if I don't like you.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 892 other followers

February 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Archives

Categories

Me and my shop helper

Top Rated

Kinderhook Woodcraft

A Former Remodeling Contractor Turned Woodworker

Want Some Honey

Beekeeping with the bees best interest in mind

Knotty Artisans

"Knotty By Nature"

vnwoodworks

A woodworking journey

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

Australian Workshop Creations

Sustainable wooden signs and fine hardwood boxes.

michaellangforddotorg

Just another WordPress.com site

randallnatomagan

Woodworking, life and all things between

Fine Wood Tools

Use and Restoration of Fine Wood Tools

Jdawgswords

lost my mind...now what????

SteveWorksWood

wood working, furniture building, timber framing, carpentry

thewoodworkingconsultant

An amature woodworker who works as a data analytics consultant

b19y

the pensieve of benjamin james lowery

garthtw2

Just another WordPress.com site

GirlWood

Design. Create. Build.

wesleyworkswithwood

Pursuing a hobby working with wood

