The Slightly Confused Woodworker

Home » woodworking » The Sick Woodworker

The Sick Woodworker


For almost three weeks I’ve been battling a chest cold that knows how to throw a punch. After a week of decongestants, along with a week of coughing, my lower back decided to go on sick leave so I’ve been limping around like a pirate. To top off my good fortune, I’ve had no chance to do any woodworking since my last project was completed. The only bright spot in these dark times is that I’ve had a chance to do a lot of thinking about the design of my next project: an Arts and Crafts bookcase.
I’ve drawn up several sketches and did some measuring and came up with a case six feet tall, by thirty inches wide by just over a foot deep. I chose those dimensions mainly for the space allocated for the case, and because of the dimensions are somewhat pleasing, at least on grid paper. You can break out all of the Euclidean geometry and golden ratios you want, but if the case doesn’t fit where you want it to then it doesn’t mean squat. I don’t generally make ultra detailed sketches of my projects; I usually just use them as a rough idea of where I’m going with the project. My art skills are rudimentary, and I don’t like using Google Sketch Up because I think it looks terrible, but this one time I wish that I had some way to make a nice three-dimensional drawing of my project. The reason is that I’ve decided to make the face frame and side panels using different thickness boards to give it some contrast, and I would like to see how it looks before I spend the time and money building it.
The contrasting thickness idea is nothing new I’m sure; most Arts and Crafts furniture is built that way, including my last two projects. I’ve just never made a face frame that way. My idea is to have 1″ thick stiles and 3/4″ thick arches top and bottom, same for the side panels. Along with the thick top and corbels, it should give me the desired effect. It has been hard for me to visualize, and my sketches aren’t helping; I may be part Italian, but I didn’t inherit any of Leonardo DaVinci’s mechanical drawing skills. Still, I trust my instincts, and they usually don’t let me down. If I’m feeling up to it tomorrow I’m hoping to pick up the lumber for the case and then getting it prepped. I will probably have to do a little searching for the face frame lumber that I want. Another note: I’ve decided to build the face frame using pocket screws and glue. I know it is somehow a mortal sin but I am doing it anyway. The case itself will still be made with rabbet and dados and should be plenty strong. I don’t see the need to MnT a decorative face frame, call me lazy, or Norm, or whatever. I guarantee you that the case will outlast me. Now I just need to get healthier or I won’t out last the build.

Leave a Reply-I'll respond even if I don't like you.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 892 other followers

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Categories

Me and my shop helper

Top Rated

Kinderhook Woodcraft

A Former Remodeling Contractor Turned Woodworker

Want Some Honey

Beekeeping with the bees best interest in mind

Knotty Artisans

"Knotty By Nature"

vnwoodworks

A woodworking journey

The WoodWorking Junkie

The WoodWorking Junkie - Not a Real Junkie :D

Australian Workshop Creations

Sustainable wooden signs and fine hardwood boxes.

michaellangforddotorg

Just another WordPress.com site

randallnatomagan

Woodworking, life and all things between

Fine Wood Tools

Use and Restoration of Fine Wood Tools

Jdawgswords

lost my mind...now what????

SteveWorksWood

wood working, furniture building, timber framing, carpentry

thewoodworkingconsultant

An amature woodworker who works as a data analytics consultant

b19y

the pensieve of benjamin james lowery

garthtw2

Just another WordPress.com site

GirlWood

Design. Create. Build.

wesleyworkswithwood

Pursuing a hobby working with wood

